Spinach, and carrots, and pears! Oh my!

While writing a post for Examiner on family-friendly weekend activities, I stumbled upon the Houston Arboretum website, on which I noticed an announcement for Rawfully Organic Co-Op (ROC), Tuesdays from 4-7 pm. Curious, I clicked on the link and quickly read the blurb about the company, then clicked on their link to find out what it was all about.

Turns out, ROC was developed by Kristen Carrillo-Bucaram, a vegan college student at the time who was trying to find a way to afford her raw food lifestyle. After experiencing first hand the life-changing effects of healthier eating, she came up with the idea of a food co-op to not only feed herself, but share her amazing experience with the Houston community.

ROC offers half shares ($48) or full shares ($89) of 100% organic, 100% pesticide free produce, most of which is locally grown. The shares are either available for pick up at their 3 main locations, or may be picked up at a few other pre-determined locations throughout the Houston area for an additional fee.  So, after years of frustration with the selection of produce at the grocery stores in my area, I decided to place an order last Wednesday for my first half share for delivery at the drop-off location nearest to my house. I figured I had nothing to lose; after all, it couldn’t be any worse than what I had bought commercially for years.

I hopped in my car after Bikram Thursday, typed the address into my phone, and was on my way to pick up my box. Finding the drop spot was easy, plus the homeowner left the porch light shining on my box so I could see my share waiting for me as I pulled into the driveway. Although it was almost overflowing with produce,  I  managed to scoop it up and place it on my back seat. The drive home was delicious with the scent of pineapple, apples, oranges, peppers, and leafy greens filling my car. Quite a change from the usual stench it has when I am  heading home after a Bikram class.

I laid the contents of the box on my table and was in awe at the amount of organic produce before me!

Half share from Rawfully Organic

Included in the box were: oranges, a variety of apples, tangelos, grapefruit, avocado, green bell pepper, cucumber, pears, celery, carrots, lettuce, bok choy, broccoli, spinach, beets, bananas, pineapple, kale, strawberries, tomatoes, and cilantro! I waited a few days before posting this because I wanted to get the chance to eat some of the food before I wrote about it. I have sampled everything and it is all AMAZING. Delicious, delectable, divine–I had forgotten that produce could taste so good.

Sure, the fact that you can’t choose your veggies may be a turn off for some, but the boxes come with a variety of “regular” fruits and vegetables and only a few that may not be considered staples for some diets. I was actually eager to see what foods that I had never before eaten would be included in my box. Now, if anyone has a good recipe for beets or bok choy, let me know!

One thought on “Spinach, and carrots, and pears! Oh my!

  1. Pingback: Easy Raw Food Storage Tips (RawfullyOrganic) | 39parkave

Comments?

