Easter eggshell frame craft is a dud

photo (64)Last year I was very gung-ho about Easter and posted about some fun Easter-themed crafts to do with the kids. This year I just can’t seem to get it in gear enough to do anything Easter-related, much less fun, crafty projects–we skipped our visit to the Easter bunny and have only participated in ONE (gasp!) egg hunt this Easter season. And though I can’t figure out what exactly my deal is this year,  I do feel I owe you a heartfelt apology for one of my recommendations last year. In my eagerness for the holiday last year, I didn’t have time to actually do any of the awesomely creative crafts before I posted about them. I did, however, do one with my 5-year-old shortly after the post went live, but didn’t write about it since the holiday had already come and gone. I’m sharing now to hopefully prevent anyone else from enduring this frustrating project, whether you found the idea here or somewhere else.

I thought the eggshell frame craft originally posted on momtastic.com would be such a fun, unique project. I loved the idea of reusing the peeled eggshells from the eggs we dyed that year to decorate the frame. I envisioned a fabulous Easter picture of my boys with sheepish grins in the eggshell covered frame and it becoming part of my Easter decorating tradition. It turned out it was a messy, torturous project to complete.

We followed the directions: coated each side in glue and then place the eggshells on top, working one section at a time. Sounds so easy, doesn’t it? I thought it’d be a great exercise for his dexterity and fine motor skills. I didn’t think about the glue getting all over our fingers and then the eggshells getting stuck to our fingers and not to the frame. I somehow managed to keep my cool throughout the tedious project while encouraging my son to continue with it, although he wanted to quit after completing the first section. He was a good sport overall, but became really frustrated as the shells kept getting glued to his fingers instead of the frame. When the last piece of eggshell was glued, I asked him if he would give the project a thumbs up if he liked it or thumbs down if he didn’t. He gave it a big thumbs down without any hesitation. And I agree completely.

Not and egg-cellent adventure.

Not and egg-cellent adventure.

Accept my apology, and from now on I will only post a project if I have first hand experience with it or if I know someone personally who has completed it and recommends it. Lesson learned, the frustratingly hard way.

Comments?

