Dream Building 101

My boys dream big.

It was couple of years ago when Hayden asked very seriously, “When I grow up, do you think I should get a Bugatti or a Corvette? I just can’t decide.”

I thought for a moment before telling him that if he is at a place in his life where he is trying to decide between the two, that I bet he’ll have enough money to have both a Bugatti and a Corvette so he shouldn’t lose any sleep over it.

My kids have dreams of visiting China. They also have dreams of inventing invisible suits and rocket boots.

Ryan dreams of becoming a doctor and working in the emergency room. Hayden dreams of going to a college on the beach, living on a beach, and being a billionaire. And Nicholas may turn out a true renaissance man if his dreams of becoming an inventor/artist/professional hockey player/scientist come to fruition.

It’s all very exciting to hear them talk about their mega-plans for the future. It makes me envision my fantastic future life when they are grown—never again having to schedule a doctor’s appointment when I’m in need of antibiotics and jet-setting between professional hockey games by way of my own personal rocket boots.

Since this life I see for myself looks amazing, I always encourage them to follow their dreams. I reinforce the importance of trying new things, of figuring out what they really enjoy doing and then practicing it, learning more, and continually challenging themselves to improve in all aspects of their lives. So when they mention to me smaller-scale wishes or ideas they have, I try to make them happen.

I’m hoping that if enough of these little, more easily attainable dreams actually do come true throughout their lives that it will help to build the mindset that it’s all possible for them. They really can do anything that they want and be successful at it.

A few dreams that they’ve actually attained so far include: eating blue cheese, having a lemonade stand to raise money for charity, building a garden, trying yoga, going horseback riding, surfing, eating tofu (which no one liked), eating with chopsticks (which everyone loves), having spiky hair, getting a dog, having long hair, flying on an airplane, and playing hockey.

There are still a few more on the list that I consider possible, like composting, having another lemonade stand, getting a guinea pig (lizard and turtle, too), going to cooking school, playing basketball, running track, and go-cart racing (as in actually racing go-carts for sport). But all of this stuff takes time, planning, and money so we’ll concentrate on one thing at a time and gradually check the items off of the ever-growing list. In the meantime, I’ll continue to focus on the small, seemingly unimportant  or silly dreams they have.

The latest to be crossed off was a wish of Hayden’s. He’s talked about it ever since I can remember, since the first time he saw it on a television show. When he first told me about it, I thought of my own dream as a kid to be slimed like on the show You Can’t Do That On Television or to compete on the kids game show Double Dare. I remembered the happy feeling of that dream inside of me which made me excited for him.

Once the other two caught wind of his idea, they quickly agreed it would be a life-altering experience. So I decided we should celebrate the end of a successful first two weeks of school with some after school dream building.

IMG_2882

IMG_2891

IMG_2890

IMG_2892

 IMG_2884

IMG_2885

IMG_2895

When I asked H what he thought of finally getting hit in the face with a pie, he  replied, “It was AWESOME! But next time, I’d like to walk out of the door and have you and Dad each hit me with one. On my birthday!”

Duly noted, Hayden.

And with that, we’re one step closer to rocket boots.

You’re welcome.

10 thoughts on “Dream Building 101

Comments?

