Moving day

It’s been maddening for our little clan lately. Even more than usual. With the end of school, the start of summer, the sale of our house, the hunting for a new house, the cramming everything we own into three tiny storage units, and the moving in with my very kind, very supportive, and very selfless in-laws until we close on our new house, all five of us are in a perpetual state of exhaustion and annoyance from all this stressful togetherness. I think we’re all counting down the days until we move into our new home, my lovely in-laws included.

In the midst of our move, I realized I had to figure out how to transport all the nostalgia in the picture below to our new home, which at the time we still had yet to find. And the nostalgia, in case you can’t tell from the really bad picture, is measurement of the boys growth that my husband diligently marked over the years on the garage wall. Since we had no new place yet, I really had no idea what I was going to do with all this information, which made the task even more challenging.

growth cahrt

Nostalgia

gw2

One last hurrah

Shout out to my creative neighbor, Michelle, for giving me the idea to transfer the markings onto a fence picket and make a growth chart for each boy. I still wasn’t sure how the project was going to work out, but at least I had the info to take with me. And thanks to my father-in-law for allowing me to use his amazing workshop to complete this project while we’re temporarily homeless.

Check out my recent post on My Crafty Spot for tips on how to make one yourself.

nhr2

nhr

photo

6 thoughts on “Moving day

  1. The project turned out great! It was fun to see your idea come to completion. It has a denim-like appearance, very clever! The blue stain was a pleasant surprise!
    Our extended sleepover has been fun!

    • We are very thankful for y’all! And it has been fun, I’m not sure we will quite know what to do with all the extra space in our new house. ;) One thing I do know though is that Scout is going to seriously miss Ginger!

  2. Awesome! Wish I’d thought of that when experiencing similar nostalgia when moving from our home of 40 yrs where my husband had marked the growth of grandkids on a patio post over the last several years.

Comments?

