The Great Pumpkin: Learn it. Know it. Live it.

GPAs I snuggled up on the couch a few days ago to watch last weeks episode of Modern Family, I was horrified to see that my DVR caught the ending credits of It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown.

Yes, horrified.

Now, my kids don’t love The Great Pumpkin, or any of Charlie Brown’s annual holiday shows really. But we still sit down and watch them together every year around whatever holiday is coming up. I can still remember the excitement I felt as a kid watching these classics, knowing I was only a few more weeks away from no school and Christmas presents, and I want my boys to have that same association.

When I watch as an adult, I notice they are kind of slow, somewhat sad, and boring for a kid, especially when compared to any animated kids show these days, so I get why they don’t love them. Even so, I feel it’s my duty as a parent to raise kids who can one day look back on their formative years with nostalgia as they remember how they were forced to watch all the holiday classics: The Great Pumpkin, A Charlie Brown Christmas, Frosty the Snowman, Rudolph, The Red-Nosed Reindeer, How The Grinch Stole Christmas, and even  Frosty Returns (which barely makes the cut).

Great Pumpkin

Classic Charlie Brown.

For some reason I exclude A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving from that list. In all my life, I can’t remember a time when A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving has ever come up in conversation, so I feel pretty confident with my decision. But a kid must have seen all the others more than once to have any chance of growing into a capable, well-rounded individual, much less an adequately prepared parent.

So now you understand my legitimate concern once I realized I’d I dropped the ball. Luckily, I just found out The Great Pumpkin will air on ABC once more on October 30, 8 p.m. EST.

Crisis averted. Whew!

For a bonus, during my search I found ABC Family recently posted their schedule of kid-friendly Halloween movies. For those with older kids, or for any kid-less peeps who enjoy a good scare, check out AMC’s Fear Fest schedule of movies.

And heads up, parents, consult Common Sense Media for reviews and age recommendations before popping the popcorn for a Halloween-themed family movie night if any of the movies on the lists are unfamiliar. The non-profit organization provides accurate plot summaries (for movies, books, and video games) along with unbiased ratings to help inform adults and make appropriate choices for their kids.

2 thoughts on “The Great Pumpkin: Learn it. Know it. Live it.

Comments?

