Another side table resuscitated

I’m happy to say we survived Christmas break–it was actually really fantastic; the best and most relaxing one we’ve ever had, I might add–and since the start of the new year I’ve hit the ground running. I whipped up this quick little inspiration board right before 2015 and, so far, it’s really doing the trick.

Did you know you can iron-on transfer to wood? Very cool and so easy.

Did you know you can iron-on transfer to wood? Very cool and so easy.

Right now I’m working on a little table to use as a nightstand, but I’ve had a few setbacks. No worries, even though it isn’t going to turn out the way I had envisioned, I think it may end up looking even better. I’m hoping, anyway.

On the other hand, the antique table featured in my latest My Crafty Spot project turned out just as planned.

My mother-in-law offered the table to me over a year ago after finding it while clearing out her lake house. It was originally her grandma’s and was in very poor shape when she dropped it off. Here it is before:

table before

And a few in-progress pictures:

photo 1 (11)

photo 2 (9)

photo 5 (7)

I stripped and sanded the original finish before applying two coats of Sherwin-Williams gel stain in Classic Cherry.

stainNext, I cleaned the original hardware with Brasso before touching it up any worn out spots with acrylic paint in metallic gold. The little brass feet on each table leg were soldered to casters, making the table slightly unstable, so I asked my father-in-law to remove them.

brasso

photo 2 (11)

Before Brasso

photo 3 (8)

After Brasso

I waited about a week after applying the stain to brush on two coats of polyurethane (sanding lightly between coats) and added a third to the top edges, as well as the lower tabletop.

Since the original leather insert on the tabletop was discolored and peeling, I replaced it with wrapping paper I found at Hobby Lobby and then added the same paper to the sides of the drawers for some fun. Not knowing where I’d put the finished piece, I chose a metallic silver paper imprinted with a subtle design for neutrality. I added a piece of glass to the top of the table (about $4 from True Value) once the paper dried.

015a55afa933474312b9da20b8742bbc76748d5194_opt

0168c03cfe96002d564c173df16a66f7d4d2625ee8_opt

01cfa079e845522384df027d7de7d395649aa6b81b_00001_opt(1)

photo (182)_opt

photo (181)_opt

It’s currently being used as a bedside table until I finish the nightstand, then it’ll head out to our family room as a side table. Musical tables, I like to call it.

By the way, this table was challenging to photograph given its’ slightly awkward dimensions, but beautifully classic design. After many takes and re-takes, these were deemed the cream of the crop. And I realize even these aren’t all that great.

13 thoughts on “Another side table resuscitated

    • Hey, Jess, thanks for the follow! And anytime you’re in town, I’m always up for a little DIY. As long as it’s EASY. Wishing you and your family well. Not much longer now! :) Well, not much longer for your pregnancy, not that I’m wishing you well for not much longer now. Ha!

  1. Beautiful job of bringing this classic back to life! Love the surprise of the paper on the drawers when you open them – totally cool!!!

  2. beautifully restored, I’d say! I agree with Heather….your energy and desire
    to do things like this is to be admired…we get to enjoy the pictures
    showing us your determination, hard work and proud results! :)
    The big dif between your mom and mine was/is- she must have
    instilled in you to be a doer and someone who makes goals and
    accomplishes them!…my mom, unfortunately, though she was a hard
    worker, she may have been too lenient on me(the baby of the family)
    and I do not have desires to do this or that…but I do enjoy seeing the work
    of you and others- who do remarkable work ! :)

    • I’m the baby of the family, too, actually. I’ve always been a little OCD but I think that works to my advantage while doing these projects. I used to be a total perfectionist, too, but have learned life is short and to let things go. I think having 3 boys has helped me with that. :)

  3. It looks great! You’re so crafty! I always have great ideas but never follow through. I need just 1/4 of your gumption and ingenuity.

Comments?

